Skip to main content.
March 8th, 2005

Tired of ads? Then register an account or login


Western Cape Open


The Stellenbosch Go Club will be hosting the 2005 Western Cape Open Go Tournament. This will be the last Western Cape Open – from 2006, the tournament will be renamed the Stellenbosch Open. It is intended that this tournament will be a qualifying tournament for the 2006 South African Candidates’ Tournament. To this end, the time limits have been increased to one hour thinking time, with 20 stones / 5 minutes overtime.


Saturday, 6 August 2005

Preliminary programme:

08h30-09h15 : Registration
09h30-12h00 : Round 1
12h00-13h00 : Lunch
13h00-15h30 : Round 2
15h45-18h15 : Round 3
18h30 : Prizegiving

Place :
Public Library, Plein Street, Stellenbosch

Fees :
The registration fee is R15 for SAGA members or players who join SAGA for 2006 at the tournament, and R30 for other players. Players are requested to register in advance. Email your name, club and grade to David Richfield. A late entry fee of R10 will be charged for players wishing to register on the day of the tournament.

The tournament is open to all players. You will be able pay your SAGA membership fee for 2006 at the tournament, if you wish: SAGA fees for 2005 were R75 for adults and R35 for students.

Format :
The tournament will be a 3 round MacMahon tournament, with the bar set at an appropriate level. Time limits will be 45 minutes per player plus overtime (byo yomi) of 15 stones in 5 minutes.

Tournament director :
David Richfield – you can mail him or phone him on 082 921 1817.

Prizes :
The winner of the tournament will be named the 2004 Western Cape Go Champion, and will receive a voucher financed by the registration fees. There will also be certificates for top 3 places, as well as the best-placed 5-10k, 11-15k, and 16k or below. There will also be small vouchers for any players (except the tournament winner) who win all their games. These vouchers will be redeemable from SAGA towards the purchase of go books or equipment.

Accomodation :
Any players travelling in for the tournament who need accommodation can contact David Richfield – the Stellenbosch Go club would be pleased to try to find you a host.

Registered Players :

Konrad Scheffler : 1d
Andrew Davies : 1k
Lloyd Rubidge : 3k
Bernard Broens : 3k
Reinhardt Messerschmidt : 3k
Steve Kroon : 5k
Daniël Wium : 5k
Jaco Swanepoel : 6k
David Richfield : 6k
Florian Breuer : 9k (only round 3)
Rory Beling : 10k
Christina Auret : 11k
Lei Feng : 17k
Chris Welsh : 18k
Alex Siemers : 21k
Timothy Spring : 24k
Henk-Jan Hoving : 26k
Adrian Thom : 26k


In a bizarre twist of fate, no player managed to win all three of his or her games at the 2005 Western Cape Open. Konrad defeated Reinhardt and Bernard, so despite his loss against Andrew, managed to retain his title of Western Cape Go Champion and win a R220 prize voucher (this amount was so high because no-one managed to claim the prizes that were advertised for winning all three games). Second place went to Reinhardt, who defeated Lloyd and Bernard. Third place went to Andrew.

The divisional winners were:
5-10k: Daniël Wium (6th overall)
11-15k: Christina Auret (12th overall)
16k and below: Lei Feng (13th overall)

The bar was set at 3k.

Full results below:

Round 1

Black White Handicap Result
Konrad Scheffler Reinhardt Messerschmidt 0 Black wins
Andrew Davies Bernard Broens 0 White wins
Steve Kroon Lloyd Rubidge 0 Black wins
Jaco Swanepoel Daniël Wium 0 Black wins
Rory Beling David Richfield 2 White wins
Feng Lei Christina Auret 4 White wins
Alex Siemers Chris Welsh 1 Black wins
Henk-Jan Hoving Adrian Thom 0 Black wins
Bye: Timothy Spring

Round 2

Black White Handicap Result
Bernard Broens Konrad Scheffler 0 White wins
Jaco Swanepoel Andrew Davies 0 White wins
Reinhardt Messerschmidt Lloyd Rubidge 0 Black wins
David Richfield Steve Kroon 0 Black wins
Christina Auret Daniël Wium 3 White wins
Chris Welsh Rory Beling 6 White wins
Alex Siemers Feng Lei 1 White wins
Henk-Jan Hoving Timothy Spring 0 White wins
Bye: Adrian Thom

Round 3

Black White Handicap Result
Andrew Davies Konrad Scheffler 0 Black wins
Bernard Broens Reinhardt Messerschmidt 0 White wins
Lloyd Rubidge David Richfield 0 Black wins
Florian Breuer Jaco Swanepoel 2 Black wins
Daniël Wium Steve Kroon 0 Black wins
Rory Beling Christina Auret 0 Black wins
Chris Welsh Feng Lei 2 White wins
Henk-Jan Hoving Alex Siemers 3 White wins
Adrian Thom Timothy Spring 2 Black wins

Final placement:

Pos. Name # wins MMS SOS
1 Konrad Scheffler 2 -1 -4
2 Reinhardt Messerschmidt 2 -1 -5
3 Andrew Davies 2 -1 -7
4 Bernard Broens 1 -2 -3
5 Lloyd Rubidge 1 -2 -9
6 Daniël Wium 2 -3 -18
7 Steve Kroon 1 -4 -9
8 Jaco Swanepoel 1 -4 -11
9 David Richfield 2 -4 -14
10 Florian Breuer 1 -7 -22
11 Rory Beling 2 -8 -32
12 Christina Auret 1 -10 -26
13 Feng Lei 2 -15 -47
14 Chris Welsh 0 -18 -42
15 Alex Siemers 2 -19 -58
16 Timothy Spring 2 -22 -74
17 Henk-Jan Hoving 1 -25 -66
18 Adrian Thom* 1 -25 -71

* Apologies to Adrian Thom: Due to an administrative error, his bye round was incorrectly entered, possibly affecting his final position. The results given above were extracted from the tournament file.

Posted by daver as at 10:01 AM, No Comments »