Skip to main content.
March 13th, 2006

Tired of ads? Then register an account or login

2nd Quarter 2006

Stellenbosch Handicap Tournament

Entries open: entries close on 18 April 2006.

The entry fee for the tournament is R15, with a R10 discount for SAGA members, or players who join SAGA before the tournament. (SAGA charges R80/R35/R20 for normal/student/scholar membership for 2006). The prize money for the winner will be R5 per entrant in the tournament. The entry fee must be paid by 12h00, Wednesday 19 April.

For info on the handicap tournaments in general, click here.

If we have processed your entry into the tournament, your name should appear on the list below. If your name is not on the list, and you want to take part in the tournament, e-mail Hugo at

Processed entrants:

  • David Richfield, 6k
  • Hugo van der Merwe, 7k
  • Christina Auret, 11k
  • Ben Bredenkamp, 14k
  • Adrian Thom, 15k
  • André Heydenrych, 24k
  • Iain Lawrie, 26k

This tournament will be a 3-round Swiss tournament, where we will attempt to ensure handicaps are small. The rounds take place at the usual club meetings at the following times and dates, unless agreed otherwise by the players of the match:

  • Round 1: 19h00, Thursday 20 April 2006
  • Round 2: 19h00, Thursday 4 May 2006
  • Round 3: 19h00, Thursday 18 May 2006

The match results must be in by:

  • Round 1: 12h00, Friday 28 April 2006
  • Round 2: 12h00, Friday 12 May 2006
  • Round 3: 12h00, Friday 26 May 2006

Note that there are no time limits (since we don’t have clocks). We thus have to rely on all players to be reasonable in their use of time. In general, it should be unreasonable to use more than 75 minutes per player, so if your match is approaching 2 1/2 hours, and you think you’re taking longer than your opponent, you should speed up dramatically. Players may agree to play subject to shorter or longer “reasonable time allowances”, or using clocks if feasible, if they wish. Under agreement, matches may be rescheduled, subject to match results being received on time. If a player is present at the scheduled (or agreed) time, he will win if his opponent has not arrived within 30 minutes of the agreed time. If no player is present at the scheduled time, both players will be awarded a loss, unless they reschedule, play and submit the result before the deadline. We request all players to co-operate as far as possible in re-scheduling matches. In case of problems with rescheduling matches and time limits or other issues, please contact Hugo van der Merwe.

Handicaps will be based on player ranks on our local ranking system when entries close. For rank differences larger than 9 stones, every additional rank difference will be compensated for by 10 points of komi awarded to black. Otherwise, white will receive 0.5 komi in all games to eliminate jigo, and 6.5 komi in the case of even games.

The draw for the rounds will be posted on this site as soon as they become available. Unpaired players will be awarded a win. The winner of the tournament is the player with the most wins, with ties broken by SOS and SOSOS, however, the prize money will be shared evenly by all players winning all their games.

The draw for round 1 is as follows (game winners in bold):

André Heydenrych (W) Iain Lawrie (B) 2H
David Richfield (W) Hugo van der Merwe (B) 0.5komi
Christina Auret BYE
Ben Bredenkamp (W) Adrian Thom (B) 0.5komi

The draw for round 2 is as follows (game winners in bold):

Ben Bredenkamp (W) Iain Lawrie (B) 9H + 30 reverse komi
David Richfield (W) Christina Auret (B) 5H
Hugo van der Merwe (W) Adrian Thom (B) 8H
André Heydenrych BYE

Standings as of beginning of third round (includes third round pairings, but not results):

Pos Name #Wins SOS SOSOS
1 Ben Bredenkamp 2 4 10
2 David Richfield 2 3 10
3 Iain Lawrie 1 4 9
4 Adrian Thom 1 3 11
5 Christina Auret 1 3 7
6 André Heydenrych 1 2 9
7 Hugo van der Merwe 0 3 8

The draw for round 3 is as follows (game winners in bold):

David Richfield (W) Ben Bredenkamp (B) 8H
Adrian Thom (W) Iain Lawrie (B) 9H + 20 reverse komi
Christina Auret (W) André Heydenrych (B) 9H + 40 reverse komi
Hugo van der Merwe BYE

Pos Name #Wins SOS SOSOS
1 David Richfield 3 4 15
2 Ben Bredenkamp 2 6 13
3 Adrian Thom 2 4 16
4 Iain Lawrie 1 5 12
5 Hugo van der Merwe 1 5 11
6 Christina Auret 1 4 9
7 André Heydenrych 1 2 12

Posted by bbred as at 3:49 PM, No Comments »