Skip to main content.
April 4th, 2005

Tired of ads? Then register an account or login

2nd Quarter 2005


Note the changes from the previous tournament: the tournament structure is now a Swiss tournament, unpaired players are awarded wins, and there is now a small entry fee, and a little prize money.

The entry fee for the tournament is R15, with a R10 discount for SAGA members, or players who join SAGA before the tournament. (SAGA charges R70/R35/R15 for normal/student/scholar membership for 2005). The prize money for the winner will be R5 per entrant in the tournament. The entry fee must be paid by 12h00, Friday 15 April.

For info on the handicap tournaments in general, click here.

If we have processed your entry into the tournament, your name should appear on the list below. If your name is not on the list, and you want to take part in the tournament, e-mail Steve – ENTRIES CLOSED.

Processed entrants (and ranks for tournament):

  • Reinhardt Messerschmidt (4k)
  • Steve Kroon (5k)
  • Daniel Wium (6k)
  • David Richfield (6k)
  • Jaco Swanepoel (7k)
  • Florian Breuer (10k)
  • Rory Beling (11k)
  • Christina Auret (13k)
  • Ben Bredenkamp (16k)
  • Hugo van der Merwe (22k)

This tournament will be a 3-round Swiss tournament, where we will attempt to ensure handicaps are small. The rounds take place at the usual club meetings at the following times and dates, unless agreed otherwise by the players of the match:

  • Round 1: 19h00, Thursday 21 April 2005
  • Round 2: 19h00, Thursday 5 May 2005
  • Round 3: 19h00, Thursday 19 May 2005

The match results must be in by:

  • Round 1: 12h00, Friday 29 April 2005
  • Round 2: 12h00, Friday 13 May 2005
  • Round 3: 12h00, Friday 27 May 2005

Note that there are no time limits (since we don’t have clocks). We thus have to rely on all players to be reasonable in their use of time. In general, it should be unreasonable to use more than 75 minutes per player, so if your match is approaching 2 1/2 hours, and you think you’re taking longer than your opponent, you should speed up dramatically. Players may agree to play subject to shorter or longer “reasonable time allowances”, or using clocks if feasible, if they wish. Under agreement, matches may be rescheduled, subject to match results being received on time. If a player is present at the scheduled (or agreed) time, he will win if his opponent has not arrived within 30 minutes of the agreed time. If no player is present at the scheduled time, both players will be awarded a loss, unless they reschedule, play and submit the result before the deadline. We request all players to co-operate as far as possible in re-scheduling matches. In case of problems with rescheduling matches and time limits or other issues, please contact Steve Kroon.

Handicaps will be based on player ranks on our local ranking system when entries close. For rank differences larger than 9 stones, every additional rank difference will be compensated for by 10 points of komi awarded to black. Otherwise, white will receive 0.5 komi in all games to eliminate jigo, and 6.5 komi in the case of even games.

The draw for the rounds will be posted on this site as soon as they become available. Unpaired players will be awarded a win. The winner of the tournament is the player with the most wins, with ties broken by SOS and SOSOS. If the tie is still not broken, the players concerned will be declared joint winners, and they will share the prize money.

The draw for round 1 is as follows (game winners in bold):

Reinhard Messerschmidt (W) Steve Kroon (B) 1H
Daniel Wium (W) David Richfield (B) scratch
Jaco Swanepoel (W) Florian Breuer (B) 3H
Rory Beling (W) Christina Auret (B) 2H
Ben Bredenkamp (W) Hugo van der Merwe (B) 6H

The draw for round 2 is as follows:

Steve Kroon (W) Daniel Wium (B) 1H
Reinhardt Messerschmidt (W) David Richfield (B) 2H
Florian Breuer (W) Rory Beling (B) 1H
Christina Auret (W) Hugo van der Merwe (B) 9H
Jaco Swanepoel (W) Ben Bredenkamp (B) 9H

The draw for round 3 is as follows:

Steve Kroon (W) Florian Breuer (B) 5H
Rory Beling (W) Hugo van der Merwe (B) 9H+20komi
Reinhardt Messerschmidt (W) Daniel Wium (B) 2H
David Richfield (W) Jaco Swanepoel (B) 1H
Christina Auret (W) Ben Bredenkamp (B) 3H

Final standings:

Pos Name #Wins SOS SOSOS
1 Florian Breuer 3 5
2 Hugo van der Merwe 3 2
3 Steve Kroon 2 6
4 Jaco Swanepoel 2 4
5 Reinhardt Messerschmidt 2 3
6 Rory Beling 1 6
7 Ben Bredenkamp 1 5
8 Daniel Wium 1 4
9 Christina Auret 0 5 13
10 David Richfield 0 5 11

Posted by Hugo as at 11:39 AM, No Comments »