Skip to main content.
June 13th, 2005

Tired of ads? Then register an account or login


13th South African Open


Download the official announcement here.

Date: 22-23 January 2005

Venue: Westdene Recreation Centre

Time: 09h00, both days


Saturday 22nd January
09h30 1st Round
12h00 Lunch
12h45 2nd Round
15h45 3rd Round

Sunday 23rd January
09h30 4th Round
12h00 Lunch
12h45 5th Round
15h45 6th Round

Format: The tournament will be a 6 round MacMahon, open to all players. A bar will be drawn at an appropriate level. Games above the bar will be even games with 6½ points komi. Games below the bar will be played at a handicap, where the handicap will be the difference in MacMahon score between the paired players, minus two. Japanese rules will apply.

Time Limits: 1 hour thinking time per player plus 15 moves for each 10 minute overtime period per game.

SAGA members and non resident foreign players R50 (students R25; scholars R15)
Non–members R70

Registration: Please register by phoning Paul Edwards at least a day or two before the tournament. (011) 888-2259/782-7766 or 073-175-0042 or e-mail

Trophies: The following floating trophies and titles will be awarded as well as medals for 1st, 2nd and 3rd places in each category: (Last year’s top placements in brackets):

1)SA Open Champion (1. Victor Chow 2. Ben Gale 3. Paul Edwards)
2)SA Open Youth Champion (MacMahon score / age) (1. Sipho Mampe 2. Welile Gogotshe 3. Ben Gale).
3)SA Open Veteran Champion (MacMahon score x age) (Paul Edwards 2. David Gale 3. Traory More).
4)SA Open African Players Champion (1. Ben Gale 2. Hatime Araki* 3. Konrad Scheffler)

(Players with the highest MacMahon scores who are of African descent or born in Africa and consider themselves to be African are eligible.)

Prizes: Prizes will be awarded in three or four different strength categories depending on number of participants. Participants who have played in all rounds and won at least once and who are still there at the end will be eligible to win a spot prize.

*Paul Edwards was originally awarded this medal, but later gave it to Mr. Araki after deciding that he qualified as an African Player.


The bar for the tournament was set at 4 kyu. Final placings are available here. Prizewinners were as follows:

SA Open Champion: 1. Julius Paulu (1d), 2. Ben Gale, 3. Paul Edwards
SA Open Youth Champion: Sipho Mampe
SA Open Veteran Champion: Paul Edwards
SA Open African Players Champion: 1. Julius Paulu (1d), 2. Ben Gale, 3. Paul Edwards

Posted by Steve as at 12:13 PM, No Comments »