Skip to main content.
March 15th, 2006

Tired of ads? Then register an account or login


Cape Town Open


This tournament is hosted by the Cape Town Go club: the venue is A Touch of Madness restaurant in Nuttall Road, Observatory. We hope that players will support them by having lunch and/or refreshments there (The proprietors have stressed that they can also do breakfasts).

The tournament is scheduled for Saturday 1 April, and will be a 3 round MacMahon tournament, and takes up the morning and afternoon, the last round ending at 17h45.

The Cape Town Open is open to all players of all strengths, and the entry fee is R10 for pre-registered players, and R20 otherwise. You also have to either be a member of, or join SAGA at the tournament to participate. SAGA membership fees are R80/R35/R20 for normal/student/scholar membership for 2006, respectively.

In particular, we encourage all members of the Stellenbosch club to enter, regardless of their strength. Here is a site where you can enquire as to the availability of lifts (or provide lifts to others): Lifts to Cape Town

If you are interested in participating, please e-mail Chris Welsh (quantumf AT for more information, or send him your name, club (if you belong to one), and the grade you wish to enter the tournament at, to register.

This tournament is a qualifying tournament for the annual South African Closed: the players with the top 12 MacMahon scores in the qualifying tournaments (after some standardizing) are invited to take part in the South African Closed.


09h30-10h00: Registration
10h00-12h00: Round 1
12h00-13h30: Lunch
13h30-15h30: Round 2
15h45-17h45: Round 3
18h00 : Prizegiving

Time limits will be 45 minutes per player plus overtime (byo yomi) of 15 stones in 5 minutes.

Currently Registered

Rory Beling (STB)
Bernard Broens (STB)
Guillaume Binet (CT)
Andrew Davies (CT)
Steve Kroon (STB)
Reinhardt Messerschmidt (STB)
David Richfield (STB)
Lloyd Rubidge (CT)
Konrad Scheffler (CT)
Jaco Swanepoel (STB)
Hugo van der Merwe (STB)
Chris Welsh (CT)


The tournament was won by Konrad Scheffler, with Hugo van der Merwe picking up the other share of the prize money for winning his three games.


Num Name Str Club R 1 R 2 R 3 MMS SOS SSS Pt.
1 Scheffler Konrad 1D CT 4+b0 5+w0 2+b0 30 85 258 3
2 Davies Andrew 1K CT 7+w0 3+b0 1-w0 29 87 252 2
3 Rubidge Lloyd 3K CT 6+b0 2-w0 5+b0 29 85 255 2
4 Swanepoel Jaco 3K STB 1-w0 7+b0 6-w0 28 86 250 1
5 Broens Bernard 2K STB 8+w1 1-b0 3-w0 28 85 247 1
6 Messerschmidt Reinhardt 3K STB 3-w0 9-w1 4+b0 28 83 248 1
7 Kroon Steve 3K STB 2-b0 4-w0 8+w0 28 82 250 1
8 Beling Rory 6K STB 5-b1 12+w1 7-b0 25 77 240 1
9 Richfield David 6K STB 10-b0 6+b1 11-w0 25 77 226 1
10 Binet Guillaume 7K CT 9+w0 11-b0 12+w1 25 72 221 2
11 van der Merwe Hugo 8K STB 12+b0 10+w0 9+b0 25 71 222 3
12 Welsh Chris 9K CT 11-w0 8-b1 10-b1 21 73 220 0

(results produced by Gotha)

Posted by Chris Welsh as at 10:00 AM, No Comments »