Skip to main content.
May 7th, 2018

Tired of ads? Then register an account or login

Andre at WAGC 2018

An update on my results at WAGC 2018 – started poorly but finished well ending on 4 wins & 4 losses. My SOS tiebreaker is bad due to the early losses so I will end up as one of the lowest 4 win players. Will update final position in comments after last round is finished.

Update: final position 40/61 – lowest SOS of all 4/8 players.

Posted by Andre as Uncategorized, WAGC at 8:22 AM, No Comments »

July 6th, 2016

Pretoria / Gauteng Blitz handicap tournament

The annual Pretoria & Gauteng Blitz handicap tournament will take place on the 23rd of July.

Brett has arranged a dedicated section for us at the Cool Runnings pub in Centurion – the tournament will start at 11am.

All players welcome, bring your quick wits!

Posted by Andre as Joburg, Pretoria, Tournaments at 11:26 AM, No Comments »

June 13th, 2016

SA Closed tournament: Candidates 2016 results

The SA Closed competition continued this past weekend (11/12 June) with the Candidates tournament.

12 players competed for 4 entries into the SA Closed Contenders round robin tournament.

The participating players were:
John Leuner, Chris Welsh, Sam Scott, Bob Gale, Lloyd Rubidge, Paul Edwards, Paul Steyn, Francois van Niekerk, James Nicolson, Ben Bredenkamp, Peet Britz and Gordon Wells.

The four players who qualified for the Contenders are:
John Leuner,
Sam Scott,
Chris Welsh,
Lloyd Rubidge.

The SA Closed placement of the remaining players are (assuming no withdrawals from the Contenders):
9-11: Bob Gale, Paul Steyn, Paul Edwards
12: James Nicolson
13-15: Ben Bredenkamp, Gordon Wells, Francois van Niekerk
16: Peet Brits

The Contenders will take place at the end of September, and the qualified participants are:
Victor Chow, Andrew Davies, Welile Gogotshe, Andre Connell, John Leuner, Sam Scott, Chris Welsh, Lloyd Rubidge.

Posted by Andre as SAGA, Tournaments at 12:07 PM, No Comments »

May 26th, 2016

Pretoria club – Simultaneous challenge

Members of the Pretoria go club accepted a challenge from the Joburg go club last night – an evening of simultaneous games where John (3d) and Andre (3d) would play simultaneous handicap games against all comers.

The event was held in the Cool Runnings pub, where there were some live singers on stage, and the pizza and drinks flowed freely. Great fun was had by all, and congratulations go out to Tinus who overcame the odds to win his match. Tinus walked away with a copy of “Go the worlds most fascinating game” and a portable 9×9 set as his reward.

The next event planned will be the Pretoria/Gauteng Handicap Blitz tournament, which will take place in July.

Posted by Andre as Events, Joburg, Pretoria at 11:24 AM, No Comments »

March 14th, 2016

Gauteng open 2016

The 2016 Gauteng open was held on Sunday 13 March. The event was held at the Kairos school of inquiry, and well attended by players from Johannesburg, Pretoria and Soweto clubs.

Three tough rounds led to the following final standings:
1 Connell Andre
2 Gogotshe Welile
3 Leuner John
4 Nicholson James
5 Edwards Paul
6 Loon Marc
7 Brits Peet
8 Thompson Alan
9 Cloete Tinus
10 Meyer Elizabeth
11 Botha Theuns
Gita Sechaba
13 Mokwena Thabo

Thanks to all for participating!

Posted by Andre as Joburg, Pretoria, SAGA, Tournaments at 9:49 AM, No Comments »

September 16th, 2013

SA Closed 2013 Contenders results

The 2013 SA Closed was finalised when the Contenders tournament was played this past weekend, the 13’th to 15’th of September. The final results were as follows:

1) Victor Chow – 7 wins
2) Welile Gogotshe – 5 wins
3) Sam Scott – 5 wins
4) Andre Connell – 4 wins
5) John Leuner – 3 wins
6) Andrew Davies – 2 wins
7) Bob Gale – 2 wins
8) Paul Edwards – 0 wins

Posted by Andre as SAGA, Tournaments at 11:43 AM, No Comments »

August 21st, 2013

Johannesburg go club moving locations

Due to the refurbishments currently underway at the Rosebank Mall, a vote was taken to move the club venue. From next week we will be meeting at the Mike’s Kitchen in the Rosebank Zone mall, shop FF27.

Posted by Andre as Uncategorized at 11:27 AM, No Comments »

August 21st, 2013

Gauteng Blitz tournament

The Johannesburg go club held a blitz tournament last night (20 August) during the regular club meet. There was a lot of quick thinking and snap moves and after the dust settled, the final results were as follows:

1 – Nevar Angelo, 12k (5/6 wins)
2 – Harvey Zhang, 4d (4/6)
2 – Andre Connell, 2d (4/6)
2 – Ben Bredenkamp, 3k (4/6)
5 – John Leuner, 3d (3/6)
5 – Dave Gale, 3k (3/6)
5 – Jacobus van der Merwe, 9k (3/6)
8 – Bob Gale, 2d (2/6)
8 – David Richfield, 4k (2/6)
10 – Jon Tulett, 13k (0/6)

Congratulations to our current champion, Nevar! We’ll all be aiming to dethrone him at the next one 🙂

Posted by Andre as Uncategorized at 11:20 AM, No Comments »

October 17th, 2012

Gauteng blitz tournament

Last night the go players in Gauteng held a quick blitz tournament at the Joburg club – 10 minutes absolute time a side. Even with this time setting most games ended normally (by counting). Congratulations to Andre and Welile for ending tied first on 4 wins out of 4.

Posted by Andre as Uncategorized at 10:44 AM, 1 Comment »

June 3rd, 2012

Johannesburg Open 2012

The Johannesburg Open was played today at Westgate. There were a few major upsets and rank changes.

Bob Gale won the tournament. James Nicolson was placed second and Andre Connell third.

Below is the list of placings:
1 – Bob Gale
2 – James Nicolson
3 – Andre Connell
4 – Welile Gogotshe
5 – Harvey Zhang
6 – John Leuner
7 – Dave Gale
8 – Thabiso Lemeke
9 – Zaine Deane
10 – Ramone Deane
11 – Sello Leopeng
12 – Musa Diphafa
13 – Max Rabkin
14 – Thorgal kaye
15 – Julian Calitz
16 – Musa Khumalo

Three players managed to win all their games – Bob Gale, Zaine Deane and Max Rabkin.

The following rank changes occured after the games were logged on the rating system.
Bob Gale has been promoted to 1k (and is more than half the way to 1d already!)
Ramone Deane has been promoted to 10k
Julian Calitz has been entered in the system at 18k
Musa Diphafa has been promoted to 12k
James Nicolson has been promoted to 3k
Sello Leopeng has been demoted to 10k

Posted by Andre as Joburg, Pretoria, Tournaments at 8:48 PM, 2 Comments »

« Previous Entries  Next Page »