Skip to main content.
April 16th, 2011

Tired of ads? Then register an account or login

2010 SAGA President’s Report

South African Go Association President’s report for the year 2010/2011:

2010 was an exciting year for SA Go. Although we are no longer receiving sponsorship for delegates to travel
to the World Amateur Go Championships, Lloyd Rubidge was able to represent us, and performed excellently,
achieving a remarkable final place of 29th (out of 60), with 4 wins out of 8. Lloyd was the highest placed kyu
player, with 15 dan players finishing below him in the ratings.

Welile Gogotshe was selected to represent SAGA at the Korean Prime Minister’s Cup. Although all costs to
attend the tournament were paid by the Korean Baduk Association, a number of SA go players, most notably
David Gale, sponsored his attendance at the International Go Academy in Seoul prior to the tournament. At
the tournament, he won three games out of seven, a creditable result in a tournament where almost half of the
players were above 5D.

Thanks also go out to the Cape Town players for making it possible for Welile to take part in the SA Closed
tournament, especially Andrew Davies, who offered him a place to stay, helped him with luggage and
generally kept an eye out for him.

The brand new Julius Paulu African Players’ trophy was awarded for the first time at the 2011 SA Open, which
was held in Soweto. The winner was John Leuner, who won all of his games, keeping Welile Gogotshe in
second place. There was a very strong representation by Soweto players, showing that the effects of the
Soweto Schools Go Projects are still continuing.

Sipho Mampe, Welile Gogotshe, Sello Leopeng, Ricky Pilane and some other Soweto Go stalwarts have
reconstituted the Soweto Go Club, and intend to hold regular club meetings at the Dobsonville Community
Centre, as soon as they have secured the use of the hall, which is a nominal R100 per month.

There was good continuity in the council, with only the tournament director and treasurer’s positions changing:
John Leuner took over from André Connell as treasurer, and Paul Steyn took over from Ben Gale as
Membership secretary. Our special thanks to Andrew Davies for the good work he has done on the tournament

The focus areas for SAGA in 2011-2012 will be:

David Richfield
SAGA President

Official PDF here

Posted by daver in News, SAGA

No Comments »

This entry was posted on Saturday, April 16th, 2011 at 9:28 am and is filed under News, SAGA. You can follow any responses to this entry through the comments RSS 2.0 feed. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.